Vegan MoFo: Savoury vegan French toast

Vegan French Toast made savoury, the way it should be. Sweet French toast makes no sense to me. I mean, how do you eat that with tomato ketchup!?

PICT0138

We try hard not to waste anything  so on the extremely rare occasions when random things are left over I strive to come up with some edible alternative rather than the dustbin or the dog. More often than not we’re talking about pasta (for old vegetables) or soup (for incredibly old vegetables) but for more random items such as seasoned flour and soya milk dip (dry mix and wet mix left over from a severely altered version of vegan yum yum’s fried seitan) these don’t quite cut it. Dip day old bread in the wet mix, and also back into the flour for extra crunch, and once fried you get a French toast which is savoury perfection. It’s also not particularly ‘eggy’ which I like*.

(The recipe asks for Old Bay Seasoning which I haven’t seen in the UK. I throw a whole bay leaf,a tsp  smoked paprika, 1/4 tsp celery salt, 1/4 tsp mace and 1/2 tsp each of dried oregano and thyme in a spice grinder and whizz it up.)

*As a bit of a footnote the last batch I made used gram flour, nutritional yeast, salt and water and was so egg like that I almost threw up. But if you miss eggs maybe that’s the one for you.

2 thoughts on “Vegan MoFo: Savoury vegan French toast

  1. I ate LOTS of French toast as a child but this is much, much better. It’s just got so much more flavour going on in it. Let me know if you try it!

Leave a Reply

