chocolate cake, crackers and pull apart rolls

PICT0163

PICT0169

PICT0156

A Nigella chocolate cake from her Feasts book made with all my usual ridiculous substitutions: oil instead of butter, soya yogurt instead of sour cream, coffee granules instead of vanilla and just omit the eggs. It turned out beautifully light and moist. The icing was made with random leftovers: some icing sugar, margarine, cocoa powder and some vegan cream cheese that was languishing in the fridge.

The crackers are Chloe Coscarelli's Vegan Goldfish Crackers but I first read about them on MapleSpice Eats blog.  I've never eaten Goldfish crackers but I guessed correctly that the little lady would like these to snack on. They seem to be a hit so far but who knows what next week will bring. I already have plans to vamp up the flavour with more herbs and spices though but it's a good savoury cracker dough to have as a base.

Also inspired by Maple Spice are the pull apart rolls. Debbie makes both savoury and sweet ones and they just looked so good I had to try them. I just used my usual bread dough (250g bread flour, 250g plain flour, 1 tsp yeast, 325ml warm water, 1 tsp salt and 1 tablespoon olive oil) and they turned out the softest rolls ever. 

It's been quiet here of late but I've not been idle. I've been over on my other blog posting about growing and using herbs at home.

One thought on “chocolate cake, crackers and pull apart rolls

Leave a Reply

