Waffles with blueberry cream

Next Sunday, March 25th, is waffle day in Sweden. According to Wikipedia it's got something to do with Våffeldagen (Waffle Day) and Vårfrudagen (Lady Day) being similar words. Any excuse to eat waffles. I had some a week early.

Waffle with blueberry cream
That's my third, hence the purple smears on the plate. They are the Chelsea waffles from Vegan Brunch topped with blueberry cream sauce and vegan cream. The blueberry cream was based on this recipe for strawberry cream only I didn't have strawberries so replace them with defrosted blueberries. Or possibly bilberries. I didn't have quite enough cashews so added a tablespoon or two of sesame seeds which was a mistake. Who knew sesame seeds tasted so strong? Jonathan wouldn't eat it. It smelt a bit like Nutri-Grain bars which at first made me feel a bit queasy but then I got used to it and decided I liked it. I wouldn't make it this way again but I'd like to try the strawberry version in the summertime when the strawberries are ripe.

Leave a Reply

