apple and blackcurrant pie with a coconut crust and a coconut crumble topping

PICT0025

Or just apple and blackcurrant pie if you want to be concise. 

Before we continue I'd like to firstly draw your attention to the left where you will find a link to a page about us should you be at all interested and also an email address if you are gripped by a sudden desire to contact us.

There was almost no post at all today because the baby is teething and…blah, blah, blah insert excuses and lots of talking about babies but fortunately I type most of my posts up on my itouch and email them to myself…strange but true…so here is the recipe I promised. It's very good.

I'm not the best at instructions so read it through first and if anything is unclear let me know. 

Your oven will need to be preheated to 200C ( but don't turn it on until after your pastry has chilled)

Pastry
100g plain flour

100g self-raising flour

75g margarine

25g caster sugar

75g grated creamed coconut

Enough coconut milk to bring it together

Mix the flour, sugar and creamed coconut together then rub in the margarine until it forms breadcrumbs. Mix in enough coconut milk to bring together to form a dough. ( you can use water or some sort of milk if you don't want to open a can of coconut milk). Chill for 30 minutes then roll out to line a  loose form deep flan tin. I always roll this pastry out between two sheets of cling film and then peel off one layer of film and flip the pastry into the tin before removing the other sheet of film. You can roll it without cling film but it will stick to everything and break apart. Alternatively you could probably just press it into the tin and forgo the rolling out entirely.

Crumble topping
110g plain flour

75g Sugar

100g Grated creamed coconut 

75g Marg

Mix flour, sugar and creamed coconut together then roughly rub in the marg. You don't need it to be too finely rubbed in. Big chunks are fine. Set aside.

Filling
4-5 tbsp ground almonds ( you can use desiccated coconut but the ground almonds have a better texture.

3 eating apples, peeled and thinly sliced ( and tossed with a little lemon juice.

500g blackcurrants (if frozen defrost first)

40g Corn flour

75g caster sugar

Scatter the ground almonds across the base of the pastry. Place the sliced apples on top. Mix the sugar and cornflour with the blackcurrants and put them on top of the apples. Scatter the crumble across the top of the blackcurrants.

Bake for 20 minutes at 200C then turn down to 160C and bake for a further 20 minutes.

Eat

5 thoughts on “apple and blackcurrant pie with a coconut crust and a coconut crumble topping

  1. I meant to add that for anyone unfamiliar with creamed coconut it confusingly comes in a solid block and isnt the same as coconut cream.
    Yeah, blackcurrants are difficult to get! Mine came from my garden and I just froze them until I decided what to do with them. I would have thought that any tart berry would work well here.

  2. I will possibly be able to find frozen blackcurrants. I think they are popular here. I don’t think I actually like them but that’s just because my aunt made Eton mess once and it was so good except for the disgusting tart blackcurrants. I’m sure in a pie with sugar, apples and coconut they would be delicious.
    Mmm, I loved creamed coconut. I used to cut off big chunks and eat until I was nearly sick.

  3. To be honest they are still tart so maybe you should try a different berry. Raspberries might be good…or cherries as both are sweet but still tart.

  4. Excellent. I know I can buy frozen raspberries easily. I couldn’t find any creamed coconut when I looked yesterday and Fanny has only seen it in Britain but I’ll see if I can find any Indian shops nearby or maybe just try it with desiccated coconut.
    I might be back in Britain before I get around to making it and could bring back a block of creamed coconut. Mmm, now that I realise I can’t get it, I WANT IT!

Leave a Reply

