Ruthless organisation and a sweet and smokey meal

The organisation and clean out is going better than I imagined. I have become ruthless. It's very satisfying. While I do have 5 bags of stuff good enough to put to charity I have been very conscious of not piling everything in to the charity bags. I hate throwing stuff away but giving it to someone else who is simply going to throw it away defeats the purpose. So out things have gone.

The upside of this clear up is that my brain feels like it's firing again. Ideas, inspiration, creativity and energy are all flowing back. I also have a much happier baby who moves from room to room with me and has enjoyed emptying what I fill. The freedom to roam round the house after 3 months of being in one room is being enjoyed by all of us.

I'm being inspired in the kitchen too so stay with me when I say that this meal was the most delicious I have had in a long time:

PICT0212

Garlic and ginger kale on top of a smokey bean and roast butternut purée (I stirred some chipotle in adobo purée into my portion) Sweet, savoury, smokey goodness. I just wish I had some tortillas to pile it all in. Unbelievably good.  I have no explanation as to why the food is all up the side of the bowl. Baby couldn't get enough of it and tried to get her face into the dish. She loves complex flavours and my reward for giving her anything bland is watching her throw it in handfuls down to the dog. Point taken. (I've never toned down ginger or garlic for her. The only things I don't add to her meals are chillies and salt.)

Smokey bean and pumpkin purée
1 large onion (sliced into thin half moons)
2 tsp smoked paprika
1 small or half a large butternut squash( peeled, deseeded, cubed and roasted…I did this at 200C until it was starting to caramelise…maybe 25-30 minutes)
About 2 cups of cooked beans (I used cannelinis but next time I'll use pinto)
(tamari and chipotles in adobo sauce for grown ups)

Heat up some oil and Fry the onion over a high heat. Keep it stirring but you want it to brown. Once the onions have started to brown lower the heat, put the lid on and let the onions get tender. Stir in  the smoked paprika and let it cook for a minute. Then add in the roast butternut squash and the beans and let it thicken down to a purée. (now, my beans were pressure cooked and were almost a purée when I defrosted them so if you ate using canned beans you'll need to add some water and cook this for longer. Mine just heated up and after a few vigorous stirs, voila, purée). For anyone not a baby add either tamari or salt and a generous spoonful of chipotles in adobo.

Garlic ginger kale
1 large Onion (very finely chopped)
4-5 Garlic cloves (very finely chopped
1-2 inch piece peeled ginger ( very finely chopped
5 normal sized tomatoes (diced)
Lots of kale (I use cavalo nero because that's what I grow) chopped up

Heat up a pan and add some oil. Sauté onion, garlic and ginger in a covered pan over a low heat until the onions are soft. Try not to let anything brown. Add a little water if it starts to do that. Throw in the tomatoes, cover and simmer until they are soft.
(don't add the kale until your pumpkin and bean purée is almost done as they'll just go all limp and yellow from too much cooking.)
Throw in the kale and cook until tender but still a bright green.

Leave a Reply

