Vegan MoFo 1 – Delish Knish

As I don't have any champagne parties to attend, or even laundry to do, it seems a pity to ignore the first day of Vegan Mofo. This may have been more appropriate to post a couple of days ago when it was Rosh Hashanah as knishes are traditional Jewish snack foods and spinach and sweet potatoes both seem to be symbolic foods eaten during Rosh Hashanah but maybe knish are too everyday. I don't know, this was the first time I had ever seen or tasted a knish but they sure were yummy.

IMG_0899

I used Isa Chandra Moskowitz's recipe from Vegan with a Vengeance. The fillings were sweet potato, potato and spinach-potato. They were quite easy, just time consuming. I should have baked the potatoes earlier. I must have had giant potatoes as I had nearly double the necessary amount of fillings. The leftovers have been frozen to be used as pierogi filling in the near future.

With the pastry scraps, I made a few round knishes. They looked quite sweet, like little purses, but I forgot to take photos until halfway through eating them, then I had to take it with my phone as the cat needs constant supervision on the balcony.

Knish

Mmm, potatoes stuffed in a potato-y dough.

2 thoughts on “Vegan MoFo 1 – Delish Knish

  1. Thank you, Lucy. I’m not sure that’s how they are supposed to look but they worked anyway. The round ones we’re tastier than the logs, I think.

Leave a Reply

