Quinoa Snack Bars

IMG_1175

That jar of almond butter was just the perfect amount for the amaranth snack bar recipe (minus a tablespoon from spreading it on one too many slices of bread). I didn't find puffed amaranth in the shop but I did see puffed quinoa so I used that instead. I also replaced half the molasses with date syrup as molasses can be a little overwhelming. Apricot was my dried fruit of choice and I added hazelnuts instead of pecans since I already had them. I am always disappointed when anything so brown doesn't taste of chocolate so I also chopped up half a bar of dark chocolate and threw that in too.

IMG_1201

It was actually really good. It didn't taste too much of molasses but had a nice coffee taste instead. The toasted coconut was delicious. It was sticky and sweet, healthy without tasting too wholesome. I served it to friends and they all seemed to enjoy it. One even asked for the recipe.

 

Leave a Reply

