Drafting patterns and sewing muslins when really, I don’t sew

PICT0037
Soooooo, I might have mentioned it before but I'm not a sewer (that is sew-er rather than a place where excrement goes to live). This was much to the embarrassment of my mum who was a home economics teacher. I clearly remember having to do some sort of sewing badge at Brownies and Brown Owl actually had a word with my mum so that in the end she made whatever it was I massively failed to. (I also recall my knitting being no better and every row I knitted at school had to be removed and re-knitted by my Gran whenever I snuck it home. While everyone else had full jumpers by the end of the year I had half of one sleeve. Fail!) Point is I don't sew…so why have I recently become obsessed with it? I thought perhaps it was a hormonal glitch which caused a burst of sewing activity many months ago but I find myself planning outfits in my head and visualising the seams and finishing touches. It's very strange. I didn't even have any patterns until recently when, along with those beautiful knitting patterns, I acquired quite a few. 

Soooooo, I find myself sewing with patterns which are missing pieces (which I have to recreate using nothing more than the image on the front and some logic) and ones which have no instructions. Some have both pieces missing and no instructions. I still plan to make them and I'll happily show them off but they may be hugely distorted. In the meantime I'm learning about dressmaking muslin's (see picture above which also shows my own drafted piece of pattern) which should reduce the risk of my outfits being deformed but do rely on me having some patience and essentially making the same outfit twice. I'm starting with what is described on the pattern cover as a "topper" and it does have a lovely pair of ruffled bloomers or sunsuit to accompany it. As much as I like the idea of a ruffled bottomed sunsuit for myself it is really for baby. Yes I know. Shame!

Any helpful sewing tips to share?

Leave a Reply

