More vintage patterns for knitters

Ghostbusters knitted jumper pattern

Does a pattern count as vintage if it's from the 80's? Thought not. Still, you have to admit these are quite snazzy. While I really have no intention of knitting I like the idea of using the pattern as an embroidery guide. I'm thinking of a selection of beautifully crafted hand stitched Ghostbusters logos and A team vans.Guess what everyone's getting for Christmas?! Hope all my friends are as geeky as me? Wait, I know they are!

I continued flicking through my fine collection of patterns and when I came across this one I felt deep sorrow for the small boy in the jumper and the unfortunate haircut inflicted upon him…

Samsyco girls jumper

then I noticed it was a girl! Girls jumpers it says! I hope she didn't need counselling. I'm still scarred from a page boy haircut as a child when everyone used to think I was a little boy. It didn't help that my mum let me run around in pants and a vest while my friend wore girly dresses and had long hair tied up with ribbons.

But the horror didn't end there, no! Once when I was about 17 I accidentally asked a hairdresser to cut my hair short and a child on a busy quiet train turned round to her father and, pointing at me, asked loudly and clearly "is it a boy or a girl"? I have kept my hair fairly long every since.

8 thoughts on “More vintage patterns for knitters

  1. Do you still have this pattern? I’m desperate for it and can’t find it anywhere! It’s so good!

      • If you ever come across it I would sooo appreciate if you could send me some photos of the charts! I’ve managed to get hold of most the other ones he does but Ghostbusters just seems impossible to find anywhere and I need Slimer in my life haha

      • I just won a copy on ebay! I’m so excited 😂 literally been hunting for years and finally have it!

Leave a comment