Mexican Wedding Cookies

Being part of a class of other immigrants has it's benefits. I've learnt how to make some fun new things such as Persian halva and pierogi. This recipe for Mexican wedding cookies comes from my American friend, Michelle. They are delicious and fun to make!


P1060449

Mexican wedding cookies

(makes about 40 walnut sized cookies)

1 cup of vegan margarine, at room temperature

3/4 cup icing sugar

2 cups plain flour

1 cup chopped nuts (I used walnuts but some people use pecans or even almonds)

lots of extra icing sugar for coating

Preheat oven to 350°F/180°C. Cream together the margarine and icing sugar. Stir in the flour then add the nuts. Once it's all nicely combined, roll the dough into small balls and line up on a baking sheet or two. I used baking parchment and they didn't stick at all, otherwise grease the cookie sheet. Bake for about 20 minutes until the edges are just starting to brown a little. I have a gas oven and managed to burn the bottoms of the cookies on the bottom shelf but they still tasted good.

Now is the fun part. Whilst the cookies are still hot, coat in icing sugar. I did this by sieving icing sugar into a large, flat pie dish. The icing sugar turns into a yellow paste that sticks around the cookies and looks a little like white chocolate. Do that to all the cookies. By the time I got to the last ones, they were getting cool but the sugar still stuck to them.

Allow the cookies to cool then coat a second time. Now you can enjoy them but be careful if you're wearing black!

 

8 thoughts on “Mexican Wedding Cookies

  1. They were delicious but I didn’t quite manage to get them to melt in my mouth. I think it was that I used very cold, hard margarine and didn’t beat it enough so the dough was a little dry. I forgot to mention that I added about 1tsp of vanilla extract to it too.
    The doilies were 10kr which is less than £1 so I had to buy them.
    It’s funny that your icon is an egg. Does it represent your unborn child.

  2. Might try them in the food mixer so I can really whip up that marg.
    The egg is a bit strange…I know not why it is an egg. Doesn’t seem right really.

Leave a Reply

